Skip to main content Skip to footer site map


Franz Mayr Award (established 2005)
Awarded each year there is a graduating Philosophy major who demonstrates unusual passion and aptitude for Philosophy.

2014 Emma J. Irwin
2013 Benjamin Cilwick and Alec Jones
2012 Danielle Nelson and Joseph Starzl
2011 Tyler Bryan-Askay
2010 Kaycie Rueter
2009 Amanda Mosher
2008 None
2007 Chelsea Egbert
2006 Dean O'Harra
2005 Anthony Pepitone

Philosophical Achievement Award (established 2006)
Awarded each year to the graduating major with the highest grade point average in Philosophy.

2015 Daphne Aldyn B. Baracena
2014 Anthony C. Nguyen
2013 Valerie Schiller
2012 Gabrielle Hansen
2011 Robyn Gentry and Nicole Iranon
2010 Anhlinh Hoang
2009 Amanda Mosher
2008 Michael Schmitz
2007 Chelsea Egbert
2006 Brant Norquist

The Agora Award
Awarded to a graduating senior who has demonstrated leadership in promoting philosophical dialogue and community, named after the gathering place in the center of ancient Athens where Socrates famously roamed and sought to engage others in philosophical conversation.

2013 Victoria Li