Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

Seminars and Events

Fall 2016 seminar list coming soon!

Past Seminars

April 11, 2016
Dr. Richard Watkins, Willamette University
Large Scale Flows of Galaxies: A Challenge for the Standard Model of Cosmology?

March 14, 2016
Dr. Stephanie Majewski, University of Oregon
Searching for Supersymmetry with the ATLAS Detector

February 29, 2016
Dr. Shannon Mayer, University of Portland
Controlling Light: Three Intriguing Experiments in Rubidium

February 15, 2016
Dr. Christopher Butenhoff
Recent trends in global methane emissions inferred from 30-years of surface CH4 and isotope measurements

February 1, 2016
Dr. Michael Crosser, Linfield College
Graphene as a Biosensor: Present and Future

January 18, 2016
Aaron Doud, OHSU
A Career in Medical Physics

September 14, 2015
Tangereen Claringbold, University of Portland
Distinguishing Dark Matter: Characterization of Contact Dark Matter for the LHC

September 28, 2015
John Essick, Reed College
Semiconductor Quantum Dots and Photoluminescence

October 12, 2015
Dr. Steven Cook, Intel Corp.
Semiconductor Yield Improvement by Fault Isolation and Failure Analysis

October 26, 2015
Dr. Shannon O'Leary, Lewis & Clark College
Detecting Magnetic Fields with a Noisy Laser and Hypersensitive, Picky Atoms

November 9, 2015
Dr. Erik Sanchez, Portland State University
Sprites, Fairies and Elves: Creating Ball-lightning with Nanoparticles

November 23, 2015
Dr. Joel Franklin, Reed College
Motion in a Magnetic Field

Monday, January 19, 2015
Dr. Oz Bonfim, University of Portland
The Physics of Global Warming: An Informal Discussion

Monday, February 16, 2015
Sean Yeager, University of Portland
Does the Dark Matter Problem have a WIMPy Solution?

Monday, March 2, 2015
Dr. Michael Kellman, University of Oregon
Quantum Thermodynamics, Entropy of the Universe, Free Energy, and the Second Law

Monday, March 16, 2015
Dr. Jonathan Abramson, Portland State University
Rational Design of Novel Drugs to Treat Ventricular Arrhythmias

Monday, March 30, 2015
Dr. Stephen Tufte, Lewis & Clark College
Musical Acoustics: Coupled Oscillators, Mandolin Bridges, and Holographic Interferometry

Monday, April 13, 2015
Dr. Steven van Enk, University of Oregon
Detecting Errors in Quantum Computers

Monday, December 1, 2014
Dr. James Butler, Pacific University, and Dr. Todd Duncan,
What Makes Meaning? Exploring Foundational Questions in Physics

Friday, November 21, 2014
Dr. Allison Crocker, Reed College
Binary Pulsars, Gravitational Waves, and Radio Astronomy

Friday, November 7, 2014
Dr. Scott Fisher, University of Oregon
Update on the Pine Mountain Observatory, and: The Origins of the Solar System

Monday, October 20, 2014

Dr. Daniel Borrero, Reed College
From Huygens's Clocks to Hurricanes

Friday, October 3, 2014

Dr. John Weiss, St Martin's University
Exploring Planets with Robotic Emissaries

Monday, September 15, 2014

UP Summer Student Research Presentations
Tangereen Claringbold: The Dark Side of the Model: Grand Unification and Dark Matter
James Ashby and Peter Schwarz: Quantum Erasing at UP

Friday, September 5, 2014

Dr. Jack Wetterer, US Air Force Academy Observatory
What Can You Learn from Light Curves? From Variable Stars to Orbiting Space Objects

Monday, April 14, 2014
Martin Hoecker-Martinez, Oregon State University
Fluid Dynamics Simulations of Ocean Flows

Monday, March 31
, 2014
Dr. Maximilian Schlosshauer, University of Portland
The Whole is Different from the Sum of the Parts: A New "No-Go" Result for Quantum Mechanics

Monday, March 17, 2014
Dr. Gina Passante, University of Washington
Physics Education Research on Quantum Mechanics

Monday, March 3, 2014
Dan Buri, JD, GTT Group
An Engineering Degree in Patent Law

Monday, February 17, 2014
Dr. Ethan Siegel
Science for the People: How to Successfully Communicate Science to the Public

February 3, 2014
Dr. Shannon Mayer, University of Portland
Atom Interferometry

January 20, 2014
Dr. Joel Franklin, Reed College
Newtonian Gravity and Special Relativity

November 18, 2013

Dr. Michael Zwolak, Oregon State University
Rapid DNA Sequencing Via Transverse Electronic Transport

November 4, 2013
Dr. Scott Fisher, University of Oregon
On the Precipice: A Forward Look for Astronomy at UO

October 21, 2013
Julian Voss-Andreae, Portland 
Physics, Proteins, and People

October 7, 2013
Prof. David Griffiths, Reed College
The Electric Field of a Point Charge in Hyperbolic Motion

September 23, 2013

Prof. Oz Bonfim, University of Portland
The Pilot-Wave Picture in Fluid Dynamics